Saginaw Country Club Hosting 4th GAM Super Senior Championship

  SAGINAW – The GAM Super Senior Championship has been a popular addition to the tournament schedule, and Saginaw Country Club has been a recently popular spot for GAM competitors.

  The 4th GAM Super Senior presented by Sullivan Golf Travel heads to the Tri-City Area at Saginaw Country Club for the 36-hole championship Monday and Tuesday. Saginaw CC just last summer hosted the Michigan Women's Amateur and the Michigan Senior Net Amateur.

  The course, which can be played at 6,143 yards, is sure to identify another great champion. Its classic design dates to the first nine holes being developed in 1898 by Charles H. Davis, a devotee of the game who purchased a farm and went to work. By 1902 the club had 100 members. The second nine, which was called the “new course,” formally opened in 1912 and was designed by Tom Bendelow.

  Bendelow is famous for his design of the Medinah Country Club courses in suburban Chicago, as well as Birmingham Country Club and The Jewel on Mackinac Island. Saginaw CC’s course was remodeled in the 1960s, and Michigan golf course architect Jerry Matthews remodeled parts of the course again in 1983. The current clubhouse dates back to 1969.

  The club has a long relationship with Golf Association of Michigan tournaments having hosted the Michigan Amateur Championship eight times dating to 1907. Chad Boyce is the head golf professional and Rob Steger the superintendent.

  The field of 65 golfers will play two days of stroke play to determine an overall champion in the Super Senior Division (age 65-plus) as well as a Legends Division (age 70-plus) winner. An additional trophy will be awarded to the low score in the competition by a golfer over age 75.

  Defending champion Rick Hagenbach of South Lyon, last summer’s GAM Super Senior Player of the Year, is returning to defend his title. The 2015 champion Terry Moore is also in the field, and 2016 winner John French of Santa Monica, Calif., is playing this year in the Legends Division.

-Greg Johnson,